The Wisconsin SHRM Council represents human resource professionals in the State of Wisconsin and is supported through the national Society for Human Resource Management (SHRM), a non-profit professional association founded in 1948. SHRM is divided into five regions across the country.

The Wisconsin Council SHRM is part of the North Central Region. The North Central Region is made up of the following states: Wisconsin, Illinois, Minnesota, Iowa, North Dakota, South Dakota, Michigan, Indiana, Ohio, and Nebraska.

Wisconsin has 19 local SHRM chapters across the state, each that provide programming and networking opportunities in the local area.  In addition, there are 16student chapters which connect students attending state schools to SHRM.